More of this and that.

I hope that everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving! Mine was hectic I have to say that. We ate at the house then I had to deliver some photos to a friend’s mom’s house since I thought it would be nice to save her gas (you know the stuff that is hella expensive).  The new job pshhhhh I freaking hate it!!!!1 I never knew how bad I did not like studio photography that is for sure! By policy you have to get 12 poses. . . . Lets just say that is HARD!!!! Espically since the camera does not dismount. I personally think that limits to what photos can be done.

As for school OMG where the hell does one find balance of being a mommy, a full time student, and employed? I would love some freaking tips on that one I am for sure. New classes: Digital Image Management and Transitional English, lets forecast my final grade. . . . . B in Digital Image and a C in English; I do not think that is toooooo bad. I am not to sure on the digital image class, so far in this first week I have to take 40 photos. DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD THAT IS TO DO WHEN YOUR BOSS DOES NOT LET YOU LEAVE WHEN YOU ARE SCHEDULED TO LEAVE WHILE IT IS LIGHT OUT?????? It is a fucking bitch I must say. One of the assignments was choose 4 themes. . . . Well I chose 4: Nature, Architect, People, and Close ups. I chose those 4 themes sine they can be very broad; but with an email from the teacher today, I think I may have to choose differently. I guess that my ideas about them does not go to well.

Here is how I was thinking:

Nature – I love taking photographs outside, there is so much beauty that a lot of people do not notice, to be honest some time ago I was one of those people. When I am outside and I have my camera with me I take the time to actually look at my surroundings.  When I find something that I love; the area, a tree, the colors, or the view (the list is endless) I have to take a photo so that I can try to show people how I am seeing things that they missed at the time. Nature can cover many things so the list is endless on what can be done when choosing that theme. With nature as a theme you can do landscapes, creeks, trees, animals, water, sky, clouds, fields, lakes, rivers, ponds, forests, swamps, rocks, caves, waterfalls, and so on. Like I said the list can be endless with such a broad theme.

Architect – I believe that this is another broad theme, granted I may be wrong and might have to try a different one. With that said, I think once again that this could cover many different types of buildings. To be honest this is going to be a little out of my element, as I have never really taken any photos of buildings. I live in a town where a lot of the original buildings that was built in the early 1900’s are still standing. I think that this will be a fun adventure as I love old buildings as well as new ones. I know that I will need to learn a lot more to fully know what I can photograph and still have the right classification.

People – Ahhhh such a huge spectrum on this theme as well. You can photograph from newborn to elderly. I take photos of my son literally 24/7 I love to take them as well. We go to parks a lot as well as walks and to the store. With just those places you can get a lot of photos of people doing many different things as well as catch many different emotions from the people. So with people you are also covering emotions and action from them. Emotion for example people smiling, being angry, sad, looking out of place, or extremely happy there are many emotions that you can catch on camera. Action for example walking down to the park and there are people playing basketball, swinging on a swing, going down the slide, or just walking.

Close ups – Let’s hope that I am right on this one as well. A close up theme I think would include many things.  I know that when most people hear close ups they think of people, well it is not just people in my case. A close up to me could be taking a close photo of something for example going into a furniture store I could take a photo of a couch but it’s really not the couch that I want, it is the fabric on the couch. More so a really close photo of a flower, a leaf, skin, someone’s eye, textures, or even the grain of wood. The list once again could be endless if I am correct on what I am thinking. Granted close ups could technically be considered as parts of nature or people.

 

 

O well I guess, I really hope that everyone enjoyed their holiday!

Author: Melissa Wilcock

Melissa Wilcock attended The Art Institute nstitute of Pittsburgh Online Division. Melissa graduated in 2015 with an Associate in Photography. During school Melissa has attended many webinars and even presented in one. In her 2 years at the Art Institute she has become a member of two honor societies, one based on her academics and one based on her work. Outside of academics Melissa has images on different stock sites, and has entered different competitions. In one competition Melissa received an honorable mention in SHSS Magazine. Melissa can be reached by email melissawilcockphotography@gmail.com or on her Facebook fan page www.facebook.com/melissawilcockphotography Photography is like music, they both make people feel and see things come alive. Are you a music lover? If so you may be a photography lover. With that said I am a photographer that specializes in commercial and advertisement photography. I want to make your vison come alive and make the audience feel it. The commercial industry is so large there are endless possibilities where I can fit into. The outcome is that I expect to make money by selling my work alone or working for a company and creating work for them.

Leave a Reply

